An Atheist Struggles with the Mediocrity of Life

Dearest Readers,

When I decided that atheism was really the direction that my ideas about religion, god, and everything else were leading me, on some level I think I thought that atheism would be a lot easier than the religious faith that I had tried previously. I’m saddened and perhaps a little embarrassed to have thought that now, when I find out that atheism is perhaps an ever more difficult road than religious faith.

You see, dear readers, as an atheist, I can’t simply just give up on any of life’s “big questions.” I can’t just say, “God made it,” or  “That’s the way God planned it.” Instead, I must give thought to questions and seek out answers for questions that seem impossible to really answer. Important note: Impossible to really answer does not in any way shape or form insinuate that the answer is impossible because it lies with some god.

One of the things I’ve been struggling a lot with lately is coming to terms with the reality of life. When I say this, I mean the reality of life in that it isn’t nearly as “great” as perhaps I’d like. That my role in the universe isn’t nearly as central to the grand scheme as I should like to think. The idea that all of my actions, my entire life, means nothing at all to the big picture of Life, is hard to digest. Even things that seem like momentous events in Human history are of no consequence.

Religion helps to take away these realities, providing a false sense of uniqueness and purpose to life. With most religions, there is a supernatural being and he notices you, (either loving or hating) and even if the being hates you, he at least knows you, and this idea makes the believer on some level feel important. The believers actions are thought to mean something, and thus even if life is mediocre at best, it is still perceived as “special” because the deity notices.

some thoughts, dear ones.

until next time,

Jim

  1. #1 by trishothinks on June 11, 2010 - 11:43 pm

    I’m just curious what turned you away from religion. Is it that you believe it is just a “false positive” so to speak? Like an illusion to make people feel better? or what?

    It is normal to have self-doubt about Life and God. I just don’t think someone can go from believing in God, to not believing in God.

    Myself, I was raised a Christian, but have found the older I get, the more I find I am becoming a Deist.

  2. #2 by ram0singhal on June 12, 2010 - 8:06 am

    Tree of Happiness

    Either people believe there is current or people believe there is no current,

    knowing the current is religion, knowing the use of current is science,

    believing and not believing both are philosophies.
    science is the microscopic vision for atom .Religion is the unified vision for at om.

    Religion and Science are two ends of one chain.
    Religion in short is like sea where,all the rivers of different philosophies could merge to have a same level.

    All the religion which exists in the name of religion are philosophies,natural love which exists without name is religion.

    Love is our inner wealth ,seed of which we bring in our closed hands to plant in this to make it a

    “TREE OF HAPPINESS”

  3. #3 by Jim on June 12, 2010 - 2:14 pm

    I’ve become an atheist because religion goes against every bit of logic I have. I’ve studied Christianity (Catholicism primarily) more than most devout Christians I know, and what I’ve found there are simply meaningless myths made up to keep a population in check. Nearly all religions use the same tactics, fear of eternal damnation/punishment, in order to instill certain aspects in their believers. Once i started question religion’s place and logic, it became clear that it was completely contrary to logic.

    It may be important to note that while I was a Catholic, I never felt a deep belief in God, it was more that I was told to. The prayers and rituals were all empty for me, for as long as I can remember.

    • #4 by trishothinks on June 12, 2010 - 2:33 pm

      No wonder you don’t believe….Catholicism has to be the worst religion (sorry), because it is a religion that certainly has beginnings as a tool to “control” people (and still is).

      Catholicism always throws up a “red flag” for me. Nowhere is is stated in the Bible that there should be a man (the pope), leading all others. Also, where does it say you are to revere Mary? The way to God is not through either of those mechanisms.

      Also, religions in general keep women subservient to men (another reason I don’t go to church….to be told I should obey my man? I don’t thinks so…..no thanks.

      I believe in God, I even pray to him sometimes, I don’t go to church, because I don’t need the affirmations of others. My faith is all I need, and it is personal between me and God, with that said….I don’t believe the Pope or Mother Mary can help me at all.

Leave a Reply

