On Drinking

Hello Dearest Readers,

I hope, as always, that this post finds you all doing as well as possible.

Today’s exploration, if you will, will be one into the world of drinking, specifically to those in my generation. I can assure you, dearest readers, that I do drink, have been drunk, and will, I’m certain, be drunk again, so I am by no means pointing a finger at everyone else and saying that they are wrong. I just want to know why.

As perhaps many of you may not know, I did not drink before I was 21. As improbably as it sounds, trust me when I tell you that it is true. I was, until quite recently, I think, always a fan of lowering the drinking age. I would look at other countries, most of the EU, for example, and the drinking age was so much lower there. It hardly seemed fair that Americans had to wait so long, especially when we could be drafted at age 18.

One thing that I’ve begun to realize is that the culture of drinking in America is one of partying and drinking to excess; getting wasted and blacking out. These aren’t really stories I hear or read from other countries. Other countries seem to use alcohol as a means to enliven social activity rather than seeing social activity as a means to drink.

Because of this, I fear that a number of my contemporaries have not developed sufficient capabilities to deal with stress and other emotions that will certainly arise in their lives. When, at the first sign of stress, you run to get so wasted that you forget about your problems, it seems unlikely that you will ever be able to really deal with them.

When did drinking become the way that we deal with stress in our lives? I’m certain we would be happier if we learned of other ways to deal with stress and left drinking purely as a means to enliven social activity.

until next time,

Jim

  1. #1 by matt on May 22, 2010 - 11:29 pm

    Hmm as one who drinks to excess and uses booze to self medicate stress this is an intriquing entry 😛

    Also, although I do not minimize the drinking problem here I would like to note the Malagasy drink just as much if not more than us.

Leave a Reply

