What’s your word?

Hello Dearest of Readers,

So I’ve been thinking a lot lately about this book that I almost a year ago, Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. It’s a book that I surprisingly liked.

The part that I’ve been thinking of lately is where Gilbert says that cities have word particular to them that epitomize everything about them, and also that individuals have their own word that is theirs as well. A kind of theme, if you will.

She goes on to basically infer that people will feel the most comfortable in a place that has a word nearly (if not precisely) matching their own personal words.

How then are we supposed to figure out what word is ours? I’m comfortable with the assertion that our words might change, but I don’t know how the heck I’m supposed to find it.  I have lots of words that I’d like my word to be, but I fear that those words really aren’t my words at all. The words I’d like my word to be are all good words, full of promise and good connotations.  I’m afraid that if I really found my word, it would be much less amazing and probably a lot more monotonous than I’d like.

But maybe that’s just the nature of the game. Maybe I won’t find my word until I’m okay with whatever that word might be.

until next time,

Jim

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

