Death With Interruptions by Jose Saramago

Dear Readers:

I just finished a really good read, and I wanted to share it with all of you.  It’s called Death With Interruptions by Nobel-Prize winning Jose Saramago.

This was my first time reading a Saramago novel, and I must say I was impressed.  The quality of his writing, his talent for weaving a story full of complexities and sheer ingenuity made this a very intriguing book to read.  The story starts out with the story of all death in an unnamed country simply stopping.  Outside the borders of the country, death still continues, but inside, no one will die.  It sets up, and ponders a bit on, a hierarchy of deaths.

Despite the questions that the story itself brings up, dwells upon, and concludes answers to, I found one of the most intriguing parts of the novel to be the narrative voice itself.  Constantly aware of his place as narrator and communication explicitly with the reader served to draw me in.

I’m not quite sure that I like Saramago’s ending to the novel, but I think once it percolates with me even if I don’t like it, I’ll respect it.  We’ll see.

until next time,

Jim

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

